Mother Knows Best

20140711-125933-46773551.jpg

Dear Beautiful,

I don’t know about you, but, ever since I was a little girl I have been taking makeup from my mother. Going into her bathroom and sifting through the endless amounts of eye shadows, lip sticks, blushes, and bronzers. I could never get enough. Often times I would sneak away with some of her favorite products and in the morning I would hear “Kelsey!!! Where is my eye shadow?!?!” I knew then I was busted. It is inevitable, every time I am home I sneak into her bathroom rifle through her things and walk away with the goods.

One of the key products I always take from my mom is the cult favorite NARS Laguna Bronzer. I consider this one to be a takesie backsie. I originally purchased this product and gave it to her. It is honestly one of my favorite bronzers but as with most NARS products it breaks me out. I can use it in moderation and it wont irritate my skin. Therefor I always figure what time is better than when I visit home. NARS has such gorgeous products and a lot of times the colors are pretty universal on all skin tones. The Laguna Bronzer is definitely not a matte bronzer, but it certainly isn’t a disco ball either. I find it to be the perfect combination of both. It glides right onto your skin and doesn’t streak. It is also very brown so there is no Oompa-Loompa effect that some bronzers can create. If you are in the need for a good bronzer I couldn’t recommend this one enough if you don’t have sensitive skin.

Another product I always faithfully snag is one of her eye shadow palettes. Whether it be the insanely gorgeous TARTE  beMATTEnificent. or the Urban Decay Naked Basic palette, both these products never fail. The palettes contain all matte colors. I find there to be nothing more chic than an all matte eye with a gorgeous red lip. The colors are very natural but offer a subtle sort of edge with dark plums, midnight blues, light pinks, rich browns, and universal taupe. I always get so excited to try these out when I am home and the packaging alone on the TARTE beMATTEnificent is enough to give someone heart palpitations.

The most recent product I snag is the Mally Perfect Prep Under Eye Brightner. This stuff is insane! My mom picked this up at ULTA as a freebie. She received it because she spent a certain amount of money on Mally products. It brightens up your entire under eye in a very natural way. While you may have gotten 5 hours of sleep, it looks like you got 12. This is by no means an under eye concealer though. So if you do have dark circles I recommend you tilting your head down and looking up to see where your dark circles are. Then take your favorite concealer and apply it only where your dark circles lie. Then using the Mally Perfect Prep Under Eye Brightner make a V and blend in. It works wonders.

What are the products you “borrow” from your friends or family?

Love,
Kelsey Kelly

Leave a Reply

